Shichi-Go-San

I’m not very comfortable explaining Japanese traditions. I certainly have no expertise in the area. On November 15th it was Shichi-Go-San (Seven-Five-Three). This is a day specially set aside to celebrate children who turn seven, five, and three. Most people celebrate it on the weekend, however, and not on the actually day. To be honest I don’t know too much about it, and the only reason I have these pictures I am about to share is because I stumbled upon these families when I was passing through a shrine in Tokyo last weekend. If you want to learn more about the celebrations, you should read this article:  Shichi-Go-San Festival. It’s one of the better ones that I found on the subject.

I couldn’t resist taking pictures of these adorable children all dressed up for their special day. Enjoy!

2 responses to “Shichi-Go-San

Leave a Reply

