I didn’t know I liked you…

I didn’t know I liked you, Engrish. Before, I would become incredibly annoyed by simple errors in English (well, I still do become annoyed when it’s native English speakers in question), but now I love your tiny mistakes and endearing mix-ups. Your yours and theres and ls and rs in the wrong places, your flowery verbiage that means well but means nothing.  Oh Engrish, you make me smile.DSC01702

I didn’t know I liked you, seaweed. I thought you belonged in the sea. But now I love your salty flavor and the extra love you give. Seaweed and rice? Sure! Seaweed and sushi? Yes! Seaweed and ramen? Delicious! Seaweed ice cream?? Why not??

DSC01525

I didn’t know I liked you, chopsticks. When we first met it seemed you hated me. I could never seem to get a grasp on you (literally). You caused me to throw food onto the laps of my dinner companions. You caused me to get an entire fish stuck in my hair. But we’ve grown to love each other, and I now I use you all the time, even when I don’t have to. I used to think you weren’t needed, but now I can’t imagine life without you.

I didn’t know I liked you, purikura. I thought photobooths were a waste of money. I thought the pictures never looked good. But now I know with purikura, everyone looks good.

IMG_0615

I didn’t know I liked you, karaoke. I thought you were embarrassing. I thought you were only for crazy divorcees. But now I know you’re for everyone. And you’re even better when I can enjoy you in a small, private room with just a few friends. I always thought my obnoxious singing at the top of my lungs to every song behavior couldn’t be tolerated, but with you around everyone loves my voice.

I didn’t know I loved you, Japan. But now I do.

DSC01624

6 responses to “I didn’t know I liked you…

  1. I really liked your new blog. You are so clever in your writing. You are one smart girl. I really liked the other one that showed all the dolls. You are leading a very exciting life! Love you Heidi.

Leave a Reply

