Greatest hits 3/19-3/25

This week my students were working on their penpal letters. I had them write a letter, and then on the back of it describe their favorite place in Japan. Some turned out really beautiful:

photo(14)-001 photo(10)-001

Some were funny (this student wrote about our city as the best place to visit):
photo(11)-001
Some were just funny (Family Mart is a convenience store chain in Japan, and apparently his favorite place in the whole country):
photo(13)-001

This week was also the start of hanami. Hana means flower and mi means to view. So, it’s essentially “flower watching season.” The sakura, or cherry blossoms, are blooming. During this time of year, people enjoy having hamami parties to sit underneath the pretty trees while they talk and eat with friends. This week I went to Ueno Park in Tokyo with some neighbors of mine. We went at night, which actually gave the sakura a strange ghostly effect.

DSC03448-001

Then a news guy wanted to interview us because I’m white.

DSC03456-001

Then we ate our dinner. I even tried chicken liver and cartilage. I did not like them.

DSC03457-001 DSC03467-001 DSC03494-001

On Saturday I did some more hanami in Inokashira Park in Tokyo.

DSC03496-001

DSC03501-001

Then my friend and I went to the anime convention at Tokyo Big Sight. DSC03504

Unfortunately it wasn’t nearly as exciting as I had hoped it would be. I wanted to see some cosplayers, but I didn’t see any. We came late in the day though so I think we missed the most interesting stuff.

DSC03505-001

6 responses to “Greatest hits 3/19-3/25

  1. Wow…the sakura are …is…sooooo beautiful. Enjoy hanami. I would love to go to a hanami party! You look great, Heidi. (Shelly Lawrence)

  2. I commend your willingness to try food out of the ordinary. It’s all a part of the experience.
    Your blog is a great read….Keep it up! Your life is quite an adventure.

    • Thanks! I’m willing to try just about anything, and I’m also willing to re-try things too. It’s definitely all part of the experience of living abroad.

Leave a Reply

