Product placement #2

It’s Wednesday again! Time for Product placement #2. It’s another drink, mostly because I have a mild obsession with Japanese drinks. Here she is!

DSC03393

I had high hopes for this one. I like the simplistic design. I liked that it’s black. I liked that I knew what flavor it would be instantly (peach). But I forgot the cardinal rule: never judge a drink by it’s cover.

I was expecting something refreshing, maybe slightly carbonated. It’s in a can, isn’t it? Instead I got a pulpy, thick mess. I became more thirsty after drinking it. In fact, I could only drink about 1/3 of the entire thing, and that can is tiny. I will not be buying this again.

Now I need to figure out what it says, as that might give me some sort of clue to it’s disgustingness, which might save me in the future.

There’s that tiny bit of English, so I used that as my starting point. Yamagate is a prefecture (sort of like a state) in Japan. So I looked that up first. Turns out the kanji for Yamagata is 山形, which is right there on the can. Ok, makes sense.

Next I decided to figure out the kanji for peach. I already know the pronunciation for peach is “momo” in Japanese, but I don’t know how to write it in kanji. I could write it in hiragana, which would be “もも” (も=mo). Anyway, I looked up the kanji for momo and this is what I got: 桃. Unfortunately, that’s not what is on the can.

I’ve come to the conclusion that the second set of kanji  means “made.” That would make sense in the context. I don’t know for sure, but I don’t exactly have hours to spend translating juice labels!

I looked up “Yamagata made juice” and found some pictures of the other flavors. They all have the exact same kanji written on the can, so the kanji obviously isn’t any indication of flavor. I have to say, the other flavors look tempting…maybe I’ll give just one more a try…

5 responses to “Product placement #2

Leave a Reply

