The Yamathon

I’m not doing a greatest hits this week because the greatest thing I did was participate in the Yamathon on Saturday. The Yamathon is a walking marathon for charity. The key element is walking around the entire Yamanote train line, which essentially circles Tokyo. It’s around 4okms (~25 miles). Check out the webpage here for more information.

Each team participating either had three or four people. My team had three but we were with other teams of JETs so in truth we had a group of about 15. That’s a tough amount of people to move around the city in an orderly fashion. In the end, myself and two others defected from the large group to move a little faster. It was so cold and it was raining; I couldn’t handle the slow pace. So my new “fast” team moved at a speed that kept me warm and allowed us to finish a little over 30 minutes before the other team, which in the end doesn’t seem like much at all, but at the time moving faster definitely saved me!

Anyway, here are the pictures from our brief stops at all 29 stations.

Harajuku station–clearly our first stop. We still had the ability to jump.

1harajuku

Yoyogi Station

2yoyogi

Shinjuku Station–the busiest train station in the world!

3shinjuku

Shin-Okubo Station

4shinokubo

Takadanobaba Stataion–clearly the station with the BEST name

5takadanobaba

Mejiro Station

6mejiro

Ikebukuro Station

7ikebukuro

Otsuka Station

8otsuka

Sugamo Station

9sugamo

Komagome Station

10komagome

Tabata Station

11tabata

Nishi-Nippori Station–obviously were are pointing to our knees…

12nishinippori

Nippori Station–and clearly these are video games poses (I’m Mario jumping up to hit a ? box)

13nippori

Uguisudani Station

14uguisudani

Ueno Station–where things started to go downhill due to the rain.

15ueno

Okachimachi Station–a little more cheerful here since my teammates bought umbrellas.

16okachimachi

Akihabara Station

17akihabara

Kanda Station

18kanda

Tokyo Station

19tokyo

Yurakucho Station–a sad moment. This is the last picture taken with my official team 😦

20yurakucho

Shimbashi Station–here I am with one of my new super fast walking teammates.

21shimbashi

Hamamatsucho Station

22hamamatsucho

Tamachi Station

23tamachi

Shinagawa Station

24shinagawa

Osaki Station

25osaki

Gotanda Station

26gotanda

Meguro Station

27meguro

Ebisu Station

28ebisu

SHIBUYA STATION!!!! The final stop!!!

29shibuya

…and finish!!!

17292_10151603410599066_1432128803_n

We waited for our other teammates to finish…

387286_10151603407764066_931240300_n-001

…although in total four members completely quit. Sad! (Although one sprained her ankle!)

And it only took us about 13 hours to complete the whole thing! YAY!

5 responses to “The Yamathon

  1. You are amazing! 25 miles?! That is so awesome! This Saturday, youth from my church are walking from the church building near my house to the LDS temple in Lake Oswego……and I will not be participating….but I will smile proudly at the fact that they will be doing that 😉

    **I haven’t ran a mile since high school; I have no idea how much I’ve walked!

Leave a Reply

