Greatest hits 4/23-4/29

I ate one of my favorite Japanese snacks, Taiyaki.

DSC04401-001

I found a chocolate chip cookie! It wasn’t great…

IMG_0866

I went to a restaurant with monkeys…

DSC04464-001

…and a really nice flower park…

IMG_0861

..and I ate gyoza in Tochigi, the best place for gyoza in Japan…

DSC04608

…and also some other delicious Japanese treat that I can’t remember the name of.

DSC04609-001

I went into Tokyo and it was as wonderful as ever…

IMG_0867-001

3 responses to “Greatest hits 4/23-4/29

    • It’s kind of hard to explain, but the outside tastes kind of like a pancake, but just so happens to be shaped like a fish. There are different options for what you can have on the inside. Some of the shops sell only sweet ones, so they’re filled with custard or chocolate or something like that. I actually prefer the savory ones, so I get mine filled with okonomiyaki, which is another difficult to explain Japanese thing, haha. Okonomiyaki is sort of like a pancake, in that there is batter involved and you pour it onto a griddle. Before you pour it onto the griddle, you mix in different things with the batter, like onions and other vegetables, some meat, and the special, amazing okonmiyaki sauce (I don’t know what it is!). So that’s how you eat standard okonomiyaki. The okonomiyaki that’s stuffed inside the taiyaki is without the batter, because the batter is taken care of already.

Leave a Reply

