Fuji Rock 2013

I’ve been neglecting my blog lately (and will continue to this month) for a few reasons.

1) It’s summer vacation

2) I’m busy!

3) It’s too hot

I think “it’s too hot” is a completely legitimate excuse for anything. But truthfully I’ve been running around a lot lately and I’ve got a special guest arriving in Japan on Monday so I most likely won’t be blogging much this month.

However, I wanted to give a quick update about my time at Fuji Rock.  Fuji Rock is the largest outdoor music festival in Japan. I went with some friends, many of whom are fellow JETs. We arrived on Thursday and stayed through Monday.

Here I am ready to get on the shinkansen (bullet train).

IMG_1465

Here’s way we stayed. Look at all those tents and that great view!

IMG_1480-001

My friends decided to dress in costumes for the festival, with a circus theme. (As you can see I didn’t have a costume.)

936481_10153116870060151_278052121_n

Here we go!

IMG_1481-001

I really loved how the whole festival was set up and decorated. Everywhere we walked had some charm.

IMG_1491-001 IMG_1492-001 IMG_1493-001 IMG_1496-001 IMG_1498-001 IMG_1499-001

I didn’t take any pictures of actual performances for a few reasons. First of all they just don’t turn out well on an iphone, and secondly I think it’s more important to actually enjoy the music!

Here are the bands I saw!

 

Friday:

Fun.

Of Monsters and Men

Flying Lotus

Nine Inch Nails

 

Saturday:

Aimee Mann

Suzanne Vega

Bjork

Jurassic 5

 

Sunday:

Portugal. The man

Haim

Mumford & Sons

Vampire Weekend

Cat Power

The XX

 

There were also various other bands that I listened to a few songs, but those are the ones that I listened to the whole set.

For many of the shows I was able to be front and center, which was amazing. For The XX in particular I was at the absolute front. They are one of my favorite bands and it was a really special experience for me to be able to be so close. It was really amazing!

 

2 responses to “Fuji Rock 2013

  1. Pingback: Gotochi Kitty | Every Inch·

Leave a Reply

