Off to Osaka

Last weekend, my friend Natalie and I went to Osaka. Osaka is the third largest city in Japan.  As you may know, I live very close to Tokyo (the largest city in Japan…also the largest city in the world, but who’s counting?), so I was curious to see how Osaka differs from Tokyo.

Osaka still has that big-city feel, but it had less of the shiny-and-new feeling that I feel Tokyo has. It gave me a very 70s vibe, with lots of elaborate store fronts with strange facades jutting outward into the streets.

(Update: I’m trying to save space on my blog, so I’ve moved the rest of the photos to my flickr account. Please view them here.)

DSC05111-002

While we were there we walked around the downtown area of Namba, ate the local specialty of Okonomiyaki (a delicious Japanese style “pancake”) and took a side trip to Nara (a city near by), and also went to Kaiyukan, Osaka’s aquarium, which is touted as the biggest aquarium in the world. We also enjoyed night views of the city from the top of the Umeda Sky Building.

 

2 responses to “Off to Osaka

  1. Love the sights and sounds of your site. Your mom got to ride on the largest ferris wheel on the western seaboard, or is it?

Leave a Reply

