Product placement #20–Avocado and Cheese Jagariko

There’s about a million things I should be writing about other than avocado flavored sticks (like my trip to Taipei, Takayama & Toyama, various goodbye parties I’ve had, etc…) but this is easy! And in the end, easy is better, right??!

photo(63)-001

First of all, when I saw this guy in the store I thought it was a little instant soup.  I actually walked down the aisle past it, did a double take, and backed up to see what it was. Avocado always does that to me. Makes me stop in my tracks. Makes me look it up and down. “Heeeey Avocado! You lookin’ good!”

photo(64)-001

When I got closer, I realized they were actually じゃがりこ (Jagariko), which are essentially like crunchy french fries. The typical one is usually just potato flavored, but they come in a variety of flavors as well. And, in typical Japanese fashion, they release limited edition and seasonal ones as well. I’ve never seen this one before, it’s “Avocado and Cheese.” Well, those are basically my top two favorite foods, so obviously I indulged myself.

photo(65)-001

Well, I have to say it didn’t taste much like avocado. The cheese flavor was definitely there, along with another unidentifiable taste, which maybe was the avocado creeping in, but it really didn’t taste like it to me. The only avocado-y feature to me was the green coloring. Either way they were quite good and I think I ate them all in about 30 seconds.

One response to “Product placement #20–Avocado and Cheese Jagariko

Leave a Reply

